Wrestling: Ends season with award program

This article submitted by Zac Spates on 3/17/98.

On Monday, March 2, the Paynesville wrestling team ended their season at the annual awards banquet at Hill Top Restaurant. The wrestlers looked back on the year as individuals and as a team. With one fine point brought up by head coach Virg Vagle, Paynesville was proud to be the only team that beat Dassel-Cokato; the state champions of Paynesvilleís class.

With losing a lot of seniors this year, the wrestling team is going to have a lot of new individuals next year.

Awards presented at the banquet were:
Varsity Outstanding Wrestler: Colby Scheierl and David Kerzman
Varsity Most Positive Attitude: Josh Frenchick
Varsity Most Aggressive: Jeremy Sogge
Varsity Hardest Worker: Jona Welle
David Bast Memorial Award: Ryan Stoneburner
Dahl/Schwartz Award: Billy Stanger
Schwartz Scholarship: Billy Stanger
JV Outstanding Wrestler: Chris Sogge
JV Most Positive Attitude: Shaun Fleischhacker
JV Most Aggressive: Ben Bork
JV Hardest Worker: Joe Hiltner
Jr Hi Outstanding Wrestler: Ryan Glenz
Jr High Most Improved: Jason Leyendecker
Jr High Most Dependable: Bryan Kotten
Jr High Hardest Worker: Steve Johnson

Return to Sports Archives