Gymnasts host first meet tomorrow night

This article submitted by Jenni Mayer on 12/1/99.

Joy Hemmesch Paynesville gymnasts are preparing for their 1999-2000 season. There are 16 girls on the team this year. Returning letter winners are Krysta Larson, Joy Hemmesch, Jenni Mayer, Michelle Wolbeck, Amy Mueller, and Rachel Koehn.

Krysta Larson is the lone senior this year. Juniors on the team this season are Joy Hemmesch (pictured at left), Jenni Mayer, and Michelle Wolbeck. Sophomores include Amy Mueller, Kelli Fenske, Rachel Koehn, and Christina Hittle. Freshmen consist of Amanda Mayer and Tessa Miller. Middle schoolers on the team are: eighth grader Nichole Utsch and seventh graders Stacy Lahr, Ashley Spanier, Ashley Karger, Valerie Callenius, and Brittany Stang.

Head coach this year is Deb Nehowig with Gary Haglund and Sara Spanier as co-assistant coaches.

When asked about the season, captain Krysta Larson said, "The season will be new and different from last year. It is weird being the only senior, but I like all of my teammates."

Captain Joy Hemmesch said,"I hope this year will be fun and without injuries. I think tae-bo is really helping us."

Coach Nehowig commented on preparing for the first meet. She said, "It is always hard preparing for the first meet. The girls not only have to work on their skills but they have to choreograph their routines."

The team's first meet is tomorrow against Dassel-Cokato at home. Junior varsity competition starts at 6:30 p.m. in the middle school gym, with the varsity following.

The team will travel to Annandale on Tuesday, Dec. 7, for their second match.

The team hopes to see a lot of fans there cheering them on.

Return to Sports Archives