Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - September 3, 2003

Girls open season in seventh at Morris

By Michael Jacobson

The Paynesville girls' cross country team finished seventh as a team at their first meet of the season at Morris last week.

Against state-rated competition, the Bulldogs were seventh out of 14 teams. "We ran fair, considering our youth," said coach Darrel Carstens.

Winning the meet was conference rival Sauk Centre, followed by Canby/Minneota/Lincoln, which is rated second in the state in Class A. Top-rated New London-Spicer - which has won three straight state titles - was fourth.

Leading the Bulldogs was ninth grader Kacy Nehowig in 12th place. Eighth grader Kaitlyn Frenchick just missed the top 20, finishing 21st.

Eighth grader Melanie Koerner was 44th, ninth grader Krista Wendroth was 57th, sophomore Sheena Hoekstra was 62nd, and sophomore Lindsey Wyffels was 67th for the Bulldogs.

"We are very young, and this was a tough meet with many state-rated teams," said Carstens. "We are content but not satisfied. We will improve throughout the year. There were many bright spots to build upon for the rest of the year."

With ninth grader Tanis Beireis recovering from injury, the Dogs had only three varsity regulars from their lineup that ran at state last year in the field at Morris.

In the junior high race, eighth grader Tarin Beireis was the leader for Paynesville in 11th place. She was followed by ninth grader Morgan Kern in 17th, eighth grader Allie Wendroth in 20th, and eighth grader Shanna Hoekstra in 23rd.

This week, the Bulldogs will run at the BBE Invite - held at the golf course in Brooten - on Thursday, Sept. 4, starting at 5 p.m. The Dogs will also run at Long Prairie on Monday, Sept. 8, starting at 4 p.m.

Team scores
1. Sauk Centre 81
2. Canby/Minneota/Lincoln 83
3. Marshall 96
4. New London-Spicer 101
5. Perham 119
6. Pelican Rapids 177
7. Paynesville 196
8. Montevideo 233
9. Morris Area 245
10. Wadena-Deer Creek 278
11. Hillcrest Lutheran Academy INC
12. LQPV/Dawson-Boyd INC
14. Minnewaska INC

Individual Results
12. Kacy Nehowig 16:52
21. Kaitlyn Frenchick 17:34
44. Melanie Koerner 18:45
57. Krista Wendroth 19:55
62. Sheena Hoekstra 20:35
67. Lindsey Wyffels 21:01

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community