Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - August 25, 2004

Johnson, Martinson win titles at KHGC

By Michael Jacobson

Local golfers Dave Johnson and ReNae Martinson won club championships again at Koronis Hills Golf Club on Sunday. Martinson won her sixth women's title, and Johnson won his third men's title.

The annual club championship was held on Sunday, Aug. 22, with 17 men and seven women in the championship flight. The championship tournament was stroke play over 27 holes, with players playing the front, back, and front again.

Johnson won the men's title by shooting 35-40-39, for a seven-over-par total of 114 over 27 holes. He beat Mitchell Mackedanz (40-36-40), an individual medalist at the high school state meet this spring, by two strokes and Randy Beier (39-40-40), the 2003 club champion, by five.

Johnson started his day with birdie putts of four feet on the first three holes, though he only made one. He had two birdies, six pars, and one bogey on the front nine for a one-under-par 35, giving him a four-stroke lead over Beier (39).

On the back, though, Mackedanz had the lowest round, a one-over-par 36. Mackedanz birdied #12 to go with six pars and two bogeys to move within a stroke of the lead after 18 holes, as Johnson shot 40 on the back, making bogey on the first five holes. After 18 holes, Beier remained four strokes back and Lee Landsteiner, who fired 39 on the back, was seven back.

Johnson took a two-stroke lead over Mackedanz with a par on #5. After both parred #6, Johnson pulled his iron shot off the tee on the par-3 #7. Mackedanz had a birdie putt, while Johnson had a challenge to make par.

Johnson's ball ended up a couple feet in bounds, but a fence restricted his backswing, from which he got no relief. He managed to chip his ball to six inches and make par.

After both parred #8, Johnson made bogey from the sand trap on #9, giving Mackedanz, who had a birdie putt a chance to tie. But he missed and three-putted to finish two strokes back.

Beier finished third, and Landsteiner and Dan Johnson, who shot 38 on the front the second time, tied for fourth.

Dave Johnson - who also won club championships in 1994 and 2002 and was runner-up in 2003 and on several other occasions - said he played really well on his first front nine, with four birdie chances. His short game was good throughout the day, needing only 40 putts in 27 holes, including that key up-and-down on #7.

With his third club championship, Johnson tied for the second most all-time, according to club records, trailing only five-time champion Mike Atkinson (1978, 1980-81, 1986, and 1988. Other three-time champions are Milt Nehring (1933-35); Bob Haines (1936 and 1955-56); Dave Cameron (1973-1975); and Gordy Pederson (1982-1984).

Martinson won her sixth club championship, moving her within one title of tying the record of seven women's victories. Martinson had not won the club title since 1999. Her other five titles all came in the 1990s - 1992-94, 1997, and 1999.

On Sunday, Martinson shot 45-48=93 on her first 18 holes, to lead by one stroke over Lynn Stoneburner (48-46=94) and by two strokes over her mother Dorothy Martinson (49-46=95). But ReNae had the low round on the front again (43) and won the title by seven strokes.

Martinson said her putting was very good on Sunday, on the fast greens and at tough pin placements. On her first nine holes, she noted, she needed only 11 putts.

She now trails seven-time club champions at Koronis Hills: Bert Lang (1959, 1962-63, and 1967-1970); Alice (Haines) Younkin (1972-1977 and 1979); and Sandi Lieser (1983-85, 1987-89, and 1991). But more than winning, she was thrilled to play with her mother, who tied for second with Stoneburner.

Tony Werlinger repeated as the club champion among senior men, firing (38-45-42=125).

The flights on Sunday were match play with the winners listed below. On Saturday, the club also held its annual shootout, with groups playing the same hole with the highest score being eliminated. (In case of a tie, a chip-off was held.) Shootout winners are also listed below.

Club Championship
Sunday, Aug. 22
Men's Championship (17 players)
1) Dave Johnson 35-40-39 = 114
2) Mitchell Mackedanz 40-36-40 = 116
3) Randy Beier 39-40-40 = 119
4) Dan Johnson 39-43-41 = 123
Lee Landsteiner 43-39-41 = 123
6) Mark Malingen 40-44-40 = 124
7) Rand Roeske 43-41-41 = 125
8) Ryan Haagenson 41-44-41 = 126
Jeff Meyer 41-43-42 = 126
10)Brian Weiss 43-47-42 = 132

Women's Championship (7 players)
1) RaNae Martinson 45-48-43 = 136
2) Dorothy Martinson 49-46-48 = 143
Lynn Stoneburner 48-46-49 = 143
4) Denise Landsteiner 48-51-48 = 147

Men's Senior Championship (3 players)
1) Tony Werlinger 38-45-42 = 125
2) Mike Atkinson 41-45-45 = 131

Men's First Flight
First - Brett Christensen
Second - Jeff Tormoen
Consolation - Steve Barten

Men's Second Flight
First - Greg Heinen
Second - Duane Olmscheid
Consolation - Chuck Hagen

Senior Men's First Flight
First - Virg Vagle
Second - Jerry Haagenson
Consolation - Rick Brady

Saturday, Aug. 21
Men's First Flight
First - Lee Landsteiner
Second - Randy Beier

Men's Second Flight
First - Ryan Haagenson
Second - Brian Weiss

Men's Third Flight
First - Steve Fuchs
Second - Tim Lieser

Men's Fourth Flight
First - Greg Heinen
Second - Keith Hemmesch

Women's First Flight
First - Denise Landsteiner
Second - Deb Nehowig

Contact the author at   •   Return to Sports

Home | Marketplace | Community