Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - August 24, 2005

Martinson, Mackedanz win titles at Koronis Hills

By Michael Jacobson

RaNae Martinson won her seventh women's title, tying the club record for most titles by a woman; Mitchell Mackedanz won his first men's title; and Mike Atkinson, a five-time men's titlist, won his first senior men's title on Sunday.

Thirteen men, five women, and five seniors played in their respective championship flight on Sunday. The championship tournament was stroke play over 27 holes, with players playing the front, back, and front again.

Martinson won her second club championship in a row and seventh overall, tying her for the most in club history. She also won five titles in the 1990s - 1992-94, 1997, and 1999.

She joins four other seven-time club champions at Koronis Hills: Bert Lang (1959, 1962-63, and 1967-1970); Alice Haines (1972-1977 and 1979); and Sandi Lieser (1983-85, 1987-89, and 1991).

On Sunday, Martinson shot 42 on the front nine, building a three-stroke lead over Denise Landsteiner and four strokes over her mother Dorothy Martinson. Another 42 on the back gave Martinson a five-stroke lead over her mother going into the final nine. Martinson, who shot the lowest score on all three nines, shot 45 on the front to win by eight strokes.

Martinson had ten pars and one birdie on the day.

Mackedanz - who missed a birdie putt on the final hole last year that would have tied Dave Johnson, who got his third men's title - shot a one-under-par 35 over the last nine holes to win his first club championship, beating Johnson by five strokes.

Mackedanz, who started three shots behind Johnson on the final round, made three birdies on his final nine holes, starting with a six-footer on #1. Trailing Johnson, Mackedanz said, "I just wanted to make as many birdies as I could."

Mackedanz tied for the lead and then took the lead when Johnson made back-to-back double bogeys on #2 and #3.

Mackedanz, who placed fourth at the Class A state meet in 2004 and who won the conference title this spring before graduating, said winning the club championship was a definite goal of his. He relaxed a little when he birdied #8 from the fringe, giving him a five-stroke lead entering the final hole.

Mackedanz, who is trying out for the golf team at Bemidji State this fall, said it was tough to watch Johnson's final round of 43 because he respects him so much. Johnson and Mackedanz were the co-leaders after nine holes with one-over-par rounds of 37. Mackedanz had eight pars and one bogey on the first nine, while Johnson had two birdies and three bogeys. (Rand Roeske was third at 38 after nine holes, and Dave Dilley fourth at 39.)

Thru 17 holes, Johnson and Mackedanz were always within one stroke of each other. Mackedanz hit his drive into the woods on #18, as Johnson took a three-stroke lead at that point.

Mackedanz finished with a five-over-par total of 112. He was even on the front over 18 holes and five over on the back, mainly due to errant tee shots on #11 and #18.

Randy Beier, the 2003 champ, and Dan Johnson, the 1997 champ, shot 37s on the final nine to tie for third place at 121. Roeske, Brian Weiss and Dave Dilley tied for fifth at 122.

Atkinson, who won men's titles in 1978, 1980-81, 1986, and 1988, won his first senior's title, defeating two-time champion Tony Werlinger on the first playoff hole. Atkinson and Werlinger were tied at 42 after nine holes, at 82 after 18 holes, and at 125 after 27 holes.

On the first playoff hole, #10, Atkinson made bogey, after missing a 15-foot par putt, and Werlinger missed a five-foot downhill putt for par and the win. Werlinger then missed a five-foot comebacker, too.

The flights on Sunday were match play with the winners listed below.

Club Championship -- Sunday, Aug. 21
Men's Championship (13 players)
1) Mitchell Mackedanz 37-40-35 = 112
2) Dave Johnson 37-37-43 = 117
3) Randy Beier 42-42-37 = 121
Dan Johnson 41-43-37 = 121
5) Rand Roeske 38-42-42 = 122
Brian Weiss 40-41-41 = 122
Dave Dilley 39-44-39 = 122

Women's Championship (5 players)
1) RaNae Martinson 42-42-45 = 129
2) Dorothy Martinson 46-43-48 = 137
3) Denise Landsteiner 45-48-46 = 139

Men's Senior Championship (5 players)
1) Mike Atkinson 42-40-43 = 125
2) Tony Werlinger 40-42-43 = 125
3) Murry Rafferty 42-45-43 = 130

Men's First Flight
First Jeff Tormoen
Second Aaron Zimmer
Consolation Steve Fuchs

Men's Second Flight
First Rick Grabow
Second Dave Barg
Consolation Keith Hemmesch

Senior Men's First Flight
First Rick Brady
Second Howard Caldwell
Consolation Marv Niedan

Senior Men's Second Flight
First Bob Thompson
Second Karl Smith
Consolation Jerry Haagenson

Contact the author at   •   Return to Sports

Home | Marketplace | Community