Gopher golfer wins Shortstop at Koronis Hills

This article submitted by Michael Jacobson on 6/30/99.

Adam Dooley, the University of Minnesota men's golf team captain this spring, ran away from the field in the championship flight of the Shortstop Tournament Sunday at Koronis Hills Golf Club.

Twenty-seven golfers competed in the 27-hole championship tournament.

Dooley, of Albany, opened with a one-under-par 34 on the back nine Sunday morning, followed that with a two-under-par round of 34 on the front, and finished with a two-under-par round of 33 on the back for a total of 101. He was five under par for the 27 holes. Rick Stark was 11 strokes back in second with 112.

In his first round, Dooley started with a bogey on #10, but had back-to-back birdies on #14 and #15. He bogeyed #17 but birdied #18 coming in to take a two-stroke lead over Rick Stark, who shot a one-over-par 36 on the first nine.

Dooley used birdies on #2, #3, and #6 to shoot another 34 on the front to put him three under par after 18 holes. Stark shot a 39 to trail by seven strokes. Dave Cameron trailed by eight strokes at that point, and Tim Herzog by nine.

Dooley closed with a round of 33, giving him the lowest score for each round. He had birdies on #11, #15, and #16. Stark finished with a 37. He birdied hole #13 both times Sunday.

Corey Eckstrand shot a 34 on the final nine, with birdies on #14 and #15, to move into a tie for third with Cameron.

Bob Pederson and Dave Carothers shot 37s. Pederson ended up tied for fifth with Bill Freeman, who closed with a 38. Carothers finished in seventh. Bart Brodt closed with a 38 that tied him with Herzog for ninth.

The five flight championships were decided by match play. Each flight had eight golfers, with payouts to the champion, runner-up, and consolation winner.

In the first flight, Randy Norris beat Brad Deyak for the championship. Steve Fuchs won the consolation. Butch Liestman defeated Mike Atkinson for the second flight crown. John Janotta was the consolation winner.

Keith Hemmesch was the champion in the third flight, with Chuck Chesness second and Ron Everson consolation. In the fourth flight, Mike Lownsbury beat Jim Drimel with Harrison Hanson the consolation winner. Darrin Holthaus won the fifth flight over Chuck Stranberg. Berlyn Berkholz won the consolation.

"The players just raved about the condition of the golf course and the way the tournament was run, said Ron Rebrovich, the golf professional at Koronis Hills. "Hats off to the grounds crew."

Women's scramble
A women's three-person scramble tournament was held at Koronis Hills on Monday, June 21.

Low net score was won by the team of Alice Younkin, Mary Braun, and Kathy Flanders. In fourth was the team of Sally Deyak, Cindy Fuchs, and Pam Heinen.

Low gross was won by a team from Benson. Second place was the team of Dorothy Martinson, Renae Martinson, and Jenny Schaumann. In third was Deb Glenz, Lori Rohe, and Kari Weller.

Return to Sports Archives