Girls track ends successful season

This article submitted by Courtney Karsch on 6/30/99.

The tracksters held their annual track banquet at Veteran's Memorial Park on Monday.

The awards were voted on by the girls and their coaches. The awards were given to the following: Most Valuable, Jenny Hess; Most Improved, Amy Mueller and Melissa Bachman; Hardest Worker, Jenny Hess; TEAM, Carin Frenchick and Tiff Rausch.

The team finished their season with a winning record for the 11th consecutive year. The team had a 58-6 record and a .906 winning percentage.

They won eight championships this year: the Paynesville Invite, the New London-Spicer Optimist meet in Willmar, at Minnewaska, the Paynesville Invitational, at Benson, the West Central Conference Championship for the second consecutive year; and sub-section 20 for the fourth consecutive year.

The team won all their outdoor meets except the True Team meet. They did this for the second year in a row.

The girls had an outstanding year and broke a number of school records. Jenny Hess set a new school record in the 3,200-meter run both indoors and outdoors. Her record times were 11:24.83 outdoors, and 11:55.1 indoors. Melissa Bachman did the same in the pole vault. Her indoor record height is 7' 6", and outdoor is 9'0".

Both Hess and Bachman competed at the state track meet, where Hess took two thirds.

Records were set in the 1,600-meter relay, too. Indoors, Hess, Amanda Mayer, Tiff Rausch, and Carin Frenchick ran it in 4:29.99. Outdoors, Frenchick, Hess, Amy Mueller, and Pyper Garmon ran it in 4:18.37.

The 3,200-meter relay team set an outdoor record of 10:08.11. Frenchick, Garmon, Mueller, and Danielle Lieser combined on that run.

The team lost two seniors this year to graduation, Gina Benson and Amber Michaelis. Both girls have been state entrants, all-conference selections, and sub-section champions as individuals. "They have contributed greatly to the team's success with their leadership and athletic abilities," said coach Dave Randgaard.

The captains for the 2000 season will be: Erin Aagesen, Courtney Karsch, Carin Frenchick, and Tiff Rausch.

This year's team came into the season with a tough act to follow and did just that. This was the highest scoring team in school history. The team had a lot of talent, and they were a very deep team in almost all events. "I really enjoyed coaching this team and look forward to next season with 24 returning letterwinners. Again, we have the potential to be an excellent team," said Randgaard.

Return to Sports Archives