Tracksters set eight school records

This article submitted by Courtney Karsch on 6/28/00.

The Paynesville Bulldogs girls' track team finished their season with a winning record for the 12th consecutive year. They had a record of 57-12 and a winning percentage of .826.

The team won five championships this year: St. John's Indoor, ACGC Invite, Paynesville Invitational, Koronis Invitational, and the Benson Invitational. The girls also had four runner-up finishes this season, including at the West Central Conference and the Sub-Section 20 meets.

During the season, the girls set eight new school records. The eight records were set in four events, with a new record in each for indoor and outdoor competition.

Sophomore Jenny Hess broke the indoor and outdoor records in the 1,600-meter run and the 3,200-meter run. Her indoor time in the 1,600 is 5:15.64 and outdoor is 5:03.81. She set the outdoor record while earning third place at the state meet.

Hess was second in state in the 3,200-meter run. Her school record times in the event are 11:04.5 indoors and 10:58 outdoors.

Hess also helped set a new school record in the 1,600-meter relay. Carin Frenchick, Amanda Mayer, Hess, and Tiffany Rausch set the indoor record at 4:27.82. The outdoor record was set by Frenchick, Danielle Lieser, Mayer, and Rausch at 4:15.98.

Sophomore Melissa Bachman broke her school records in the pole vault. Bachman's indoor mark is now 9' 0", and her outdoor mark is 10' 3". Bachman advanced to state again this year in this event.

Rausch also advanced to state this year for the Bulldogs in the 400-meter dash.

The team will lose three senior captains next year. Frenchick, Courtney Karsch, and Rausch have all been on the varsity track team for five years, since eighth grade. "They have been outstanding captains this year and have provided top notch leadership to the program," said coach Dave Randgaard.

During the past five years, the team has won four sub-section titles and three conference titles. "They have really accomplished a lot of success over their track careers. We will miss these three seniors next year and wish them good luck in their futures," said Randgaard.

The captains for next year's track team will be: seniors Joy Hemmesch, Leanne Kolb, and Katrina Orbeck, and juniors Jenny Hess and Melissa Bachman.

"This year's team came into the season with a tough act to follow and did an outstanding job, winning their first four meets of the season," said Randgaard. "I really enjoyed coaching this team a lot. They are a great group of girls to work with."

All the team members earned letters for track this spring. The team also voted for awards. Hess was chosen as the Most Valuable Player and the Hardest Worker. Amanda Mayer earned the award for Most Improved. Rausch and Frenchick earned the TEAM Award.

Return to Archives