Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - March 27, 2002

PNLS squirts end season by taking fourth in tourney

Squirts Hockey Team The Paynesville-New London-Spicer (PNLS) Lakers squirt hockey team ended their season with a fourth-place finish in their home invitational tournament on March 1-3.

The Lakers opened the tournament on Friday night, with a tie against Litchfield-Dassel-Cokato (LDC). On Saturday morning, the Lakers beat Cold Spring Area (CSA) and then lost to Buffalo on Saturday afternoon.

On Sunday morning, the Lakers lost to Sartell, who swept the tournament with four wins and no losses. Buffalo placed second.

A tiebreaker between LDC and PNLS determined third place for LDC and fourth place for PNLS. Fifth place went to CSA.

A hot dog eating contest added to the excitement of the tournament. In the last seconds of the last game, Sartell's fans and players edged out PNLS by eating 122 dogs to the Lakers' 119. Sartell was also awarded the "top dog" trophy.

Squirt team members for the PNLS Lakers this year were: (front) Kajae Lieser and Tanner Caldwell; (kneeling) George Kueppers, Cody Lieser, Megan Bergeson, Luke Peterson, Daniel Vogt, Dillon Hedman, Freddie Kueppers, Jonathan Cole, and Ryan Aalderks; (standing) Aaron Savelkoul, Dalton Ehresmann, Michael Wendlandt, Ryan Peterson, Brutger Mrozek, and Jesse Caldwell. Not pictured are coaches Troy Caldwell and Bob Mrozek.

The PNLS Hockey Association will close out the hockey season with their annual banquet on Sunday, April 14, at 12:30 p.m. at Northern Lights Dining and Lounge.

Contact the author at   •   Return to Sports

Home | Marketplace | Community