Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - March 26, 2003

Teicher chosen for all-star game

By Michael Jacobson

Josh Teicher Senior Josh Teicher has been selected to represent the Paynesville Bulldogs in an all-star basketball game, hosted by the BBE Booster Club, on Saturday, March 29.

Featuring seniors from 17 area schools, a girls' and a boys' all-star game will be played at BBE High School in Belgrade. The girls' game will start at 2:30 p.m., and the boys' game at 5:30 p.m.

Teicher, a senior point guard, averaged 8.2 points per game this year for the Bulldogs, who finished with a record of 6-17, including 2-8 in the West Central Conference North. He was a team captain and team leader, said coach Phil Carlson.

Teicher led the team in steals and was second on the team in scoring, in assists, and in free throw percentage. He was chosen as honorable mention All Conference by the conference coaches and as MVP by his teammates.

Teicher will play on the east team. His teammates are: Corey Ahrendt, Marcus Bratsch, and Caleb Greene of New London-Spicer; Brian Ahrens and Luke Schumacher of Sauk Centre; Aaron Albright, Brad Ruhland, and Kris Stade of Eden Valley-Watkins; Adam Budde of Albany; John Defoe and Ben Schmiesing of Swanville; Keith Frieler of Melrose; Eric Nelson of ACGC; and Kyle Wurm of Kimball.

They will play the west team comprised by: Kam Berget and Brendan Hacker of Hancock; T.J. Berglund and Brian Larson of Osakis; Shawn Finstrom and Adam Shieck of KMS; Ryan Koehler, Andrew Rosengren, and Troy Rosengren of BBE; Sam Loen of Benson; Justin Pederson of Minnewaska; Darren Solbrack and Mark Hallstrom of Willmar; and Casy Thompson and Jeremy Tvrdik of Alexandria.

Comprising the east team for the girls are: Sone Bengtson, Vanessa Opheim, and Betsy Schramel of EV-W; Bryanne Engen and Laura Skorheim of Sauk Centre; Carla Henneman, Jenny Kunkel, and Tammy Kuechle of Kimball; Melody Hirschmann of ACGC; Shannon McNeil and Darby Noreen of Albany; and Stephanie Peterson and Carrie Westre of NL-S.

The girls' west team is: Katie Grundman, Jennifer Quistorff, and Savannah Walsh of Osakis; Hannah Hacker and Kala Malvin of Alexandria; Kayla Hendrickson and Serena Jans of Willmar; Jada Illies and Tanna White of BBE; Lacey Shiele and Mandy Tauber of Minnewaska; Alicia Watkins of KMS; and Jodi Miller of LPGE.

Tickets are $9 for adults and $7 for students at the door.

Contact the author at   •   Return to Sports

Home | Marketplace | Community