Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Sports Archives

Paynesville Press - March 3, 2004

State Wrestling Preview

By Michael Jacobson

While Paynesville will not wrestle in the team competition at the state wrestling tournament this weekend, Paynesville will be represented on the mats at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Two Paynesville Area High School graduates will coach in the team competition, facing each other in the first round on Thursday morning, and six individual wrestlers from PAHS will compete, starting on Thursday evening in the individual competition.

reaction of crowd to Sean Glenz win Tim Roberg, a 1996 PAHS graduate and a Paynesville resident, takes ACGC (19-5), the champions of Section 5A, to state. In the first round, the Falcons will face New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva (26-11), the champions of Section 2A, where Mike Weber, a 1988 PAHS graduate is an assistant coach. NR-H-E-G is rated #8 in Class A, while ACGC is rated #12.

Paynesville coaches and fans react after sophomore Sean Glenz captured the Section 6A title at 145 on Saturday evening. Six wrestlers from PAHS - including Glenz, lower left - qualified for the individual state tournament in wrestling over the weekend.

Paynesville wrestlers will compete in the individual competition, starting at 6 p.m. on Thursday. Every weight class in the individual competition features 16 wrestlers - two from each section. To win a state title, a wrestler must win four straight matches. Medals are awarded to the top six wrestlers at each weight class.

Here are the first-round matchups for the six Paynesville wrestlers:
At 112, sophomore Joe Sheridan (24-11) faces Kirk Anderson (39-2), an eighth grader from Barnesville, in the first round at state. Anderson is rated #1 in Class A at 112 and took second at 103 last year.

At 119, junior Todd Thielen (20-17) also faces a difficult first-rounddraw. In the first round, he will wrestle senior Joe Grasser (36-0) of LeCenter-Cleveland, who is rated second in the state. Grasser took fourth last year at 112. In the same quarter bracket as Thielen is Matt Pearson, a ninth grader from ACGC and one of eight Falcon wrestlers to qualify for state individually.

At 145, sophomore Sean Glenz (39-0) drew Cody Salo (35-6), a junior from New York Mills, in the first round. In the second round, Glenz could face Cory Schunk (35-1), a senior from Wabasso rated #2 at 145 who took fifth at 140 last year.

Glenz is the only undefeated wrestler at 145 in Class A. He is rated #7 in the state in Class A.

At 152, senior Matt Kerzman (36-5) faces senior Tyler Fuller (31-8) of Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale in the first round. Also in his quarter bracket is senior Adam Aho (40-1) of Frazee, who is rated #1 at this weight and placed third last year at 145.

At 215, senior Pat Utsch (35-4) will wrestle Bryan Reimers (28-4), a senior from River Valley, in the first round. Utsch is rated #6 in Class A at 189 but is wrestling at 215 at state. Reimers is rated #6 in Class A at 215. In the same quarter bracket as Utsch are junior Jake Tesch (26-78) from St. Charles, who is rated #7 in Class A, and unranked sophomore Philip Magedanz (22-10) of EV-W.

At 275, senior Derek Burris (11-11) faces a difficult draw as well. In the first round, he will wrestle Ben Derynck (34-3), a senior from Minneota who is rated #2 in Class A. In the same quarter bracket is junior Jared Schwanz (33-2) of St. James, who is rated #1 in the state in Class A.

Class A Schedule
Thursday, March 4
10:15 a.m. -- Class A Team Quarterfinals
6 p.m. -- Class A Individual Preliminaries
8:15 p.m. -- Class A Individual Quarterfinals

Friday, March 5
11 a.m. -- Class A Wrestlebacks
1:30 p.m. -- Class A Team Semifinals
8 p.m. -- Class A Individual Semifinals and Consolation Quarterfinals

Saturday, March 6
10 a.m. -- Class A Consolation Semifinals
1:30 p.m. -- Class A Team Championships
*5:30 p.m. -- Class A Individual Title Matches

*The time for Saturday's Class A Individual Title Matches
is an approximate. These matches will occur during the last session
of the day, no earlier than 5:30 p.m. but will depend on how fast
the other matches and awards ceremonies progress.

Contact the author at   •   Return to Sports

Home | Marketplace | Community