Wrestlers beat DC for Eastview title

This article submitted by Michael Jacobson on 1/26/00.

The top-seeded Paynesville Bulldogs claimed the tournament title at the third annual Lightning Invitational hosted by Eastview High School in Apple Valley Saturday.

The Bulldogs won three dual matches to beat the field in the eight-team tournament. In the final, they defeated Dassel-Cokato 28-21, in a rematch of last year's sectional final, also won by the Bulldogs. Paynesville is rated second in Class A, and DC, seeded second at the tournament, is rated third in Class AA.

The Bulldogs charged to the lead against the Chargers with a narrow 7-6 decision by Nate Glenz at 112 and a pin by Jeremy Sogge at 119. Sogge needed just 39 seconds to record the fall.

At 125, David Kerzman scored six third-period points to decision state-rated Jordan Isakson 12-5 and gave the Bulldogs a 12-4 lead.

DC won three of the next four matches to cut the lead to 17-14. The Bulldogs' victory was a technical fall by Chris Welle at 135. Chris Sogge also had a technical fall at 152, which pushed the Bulldogs' lead to eight again at 22-14.

The Bulldogs sealed the match with victories at 171 and 189. Seniors Shaun Fleischhacker and Josh Bork each won a decision to give Paynesville an insurmountable 28-17 lead.

As always with wrestling, team members contributed to the winning cause even in defeat. Several wrestlers had notable performances in losing causes. At 130, sophomore Jeremy Fuchs was tied going into the third period but lost 6-2 to state-rated Jordan Isakson. At 140, Joe Hiltner lost 9-8 to Steve Bratlund, who placed third at state last year.

At 160, Scott Braun lost a close match 3-1. At 145 Josh Schreifels and at heavy weight Matt Brauchler lost mere major decisons to state-rated wrestlers.

Earlier in the day, the Bulldogs shut out Arlington 76-0 and beat Austin 39-24 to advance to the finals.

Austin led 11-6 before Kerzman, Welle, and Hiltner recorded falls for Paynesville at successive weights. Welle pinned a wrestler rated individually in Class AAA.

Austin got six points back from state-ranked Mike Cunningham, but Chris Sogge, Braun, and Fleischhacker won in succession to put the Bulldogs safely ahead.

Austin's state-rated 189-pounder and heavyweight could manage just decisions against Bork and Brauchler for the Bulldogs.

Jeremy Sogge, at 119, also had a pin for the Bulldogs against Austin. For the day, he won all three of his matches, all three by fall.

The Bulldogs blitzed Arlington in their opening match, 76-0. Adam Christian, Nate Glenz, and Sogge opened the match with consecutive pins. Arlington then forfeited three of the next five weights.

Max Meagher (135), Chris Sogge (152), Fleischhacker (160), Bork (189), and Brauchler at heavyweight recorded pins for Paynesville. Brad Schultz had a major decision for the Bulldogs at 125. Arlington forfeited four weights in all.

The Bulldogs' match against Rocori, scheduled for last Thursday, was postponed until Feb. 11.

The Bulldogs wrestled in a quadrangular at Pierz last night. Pierz is a key sectional foe for the Bulldogs this year. The team will wrestle in the individual conference tournament on Friday in Litchfield. The tournament starts at 4 p.m., with the semifinals scheduled for 5:15 and the finals for 7:30.

As WCC North champions, the Bulldogs should wrestle Minnewaska, the WCC South champs, on Tuesday, Feb. 1, in a playoff for the title. Minnewaska will host the match.

Paynesville 76, Arlington 0
103: Adam Christian (P) pinned Thang Yang, 1:52;
112: Nate Glenz (P) pinned Va Neng Thao, 3:49;
119: Jeremy Sogge (P) pinned Sa Moua, 2:58;
125: Brad Schultz (P) maj. dec. Jim Lee, 11-3;
130: Dave Kerzman (P) won by forfeit;
135: Max Meagher (P) pinned Chee Krie, 1:36;
140: Chris Welle (P) won by forfeit;
145: Josh Schreifels (P) won by forfeit;
152: Chris Sogge (P) pinned Ahmed Lewes, 1:46;
160: Shaun Fleischhacker (P) pinned Jean Baltagan, 1:09;
171: Scott Braun (P) won by forfeit;
189: Josh Bork (P) pinned Nate Martin, 1:40;
Hwt: Matt Brauchler (P) pinned Tony Oyewo, 3:27.

Paynesville 39, Austin 24
103: Marcus Bell (A) maj. dec. Adam Christian, 11-3;
112: Spencer Wilner (A) maj. dec. Nate Glenz, 12-4;
119: Jeremy Sogge (P) pinned Scott Miller, 1:10;
125: David Carroll (A) dec. Brad Schultz, 9-7 (OT);
130: Dave Kerzman (P) pinned Matt Adwell, 1:58;
135: Chris Welle (P) pinned Joe Cunningham, 0:48;
140: Joe Hiltner (P) pinned Drew Darterle, 0:47;
145: Mike Cunningham (A) pinned Josh Schreifels, 2:41;
152: Chris Sogge (P) won by forfeit;
160: Scott Braun (P) dec. Willie Clennon, 10-5;
171: Shaun Fleischhacker (P) pinned Todd Krupicka, 3:54;
189: Chad Mentel (A) dec. Josh Bork, 13-7;
Hwt: Brian Heimer (A) dec. Matt Brauchler, 9-1.

Paynesville 28, DC 21
103: Josh Isakson (DC) maj. dec. Adam Christian, 16-6;
112: Nate Glenz (P) dec. Noel Keity, 7-6;
119: Jeremy Sogge (P) pinned Jeff Gringroth, 0:39;
125: Dave Kerzman (P) dec. Jordan Isakson, 12-5;
130: T.J. Anderson (DC) dec. Jeremy Fuchs, 6-2;
135: Chris Welle (P) tech. falled Brett Solomon, 25-7;
140: Steve Bratlund (DC) dec. Joe Hiltner, 9-8;
145: Brad Opsahl (DC) maj. dec. Josh Schreifels, 9-1;
152: Chris Sogge (P) tech. fall Clint Scherpping, 17-2;
160: Eric Pokornowski (DC) dec. Scott Braun, 3-1;
171: Shaun Fleischhacker (P) dec. David Salmen, 6-0;
189: Josh Bork (P) dec. Luke Philippi, 6-4;
Hwt: Ben Meyer (DC) maj. dec. Matt Brauchler, 11-2.

Return to Sports Archives