PNLS squirts take second

This article submitted on 1/17/01.

Squirt team The Paynesville-New London-Spicer (PNLS) Lakers Squirt hockey team placed second in the Cold Spring Area Hockey Association tournament held on Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 6-7.

The Lakers defeated Cambridge-Isanti 4-0 in the first round at the River Lakes Civic Arena in Richmond. Then the PNLS Squirts beat Benson-Morris in the semifinals 3-1.

In the finals on Sunday, Mora shut out the Lakers 7-0 to win the championship.

Other teams in the tournament were St. Michael-Albertville, Cold Spring Area, Sauk Centre, and Blaine.

Members of the Squirt team are: (front) goalie Cyril Storkamp; (kneeling) Kajae Lieser, Ryan Peterson, Jesse Keehn, Colin Spooner, Brett Savelkoul, Freddie Kueppers; (middle) Michael Kern, Colby Peterson, Nick Sykora; (standing) Brutger Mrozek, Zach Schwandt, Jonathan Cole, Jesse Caldwell, Ryan Allderks Not pictured: Coaches are Troy Caldwell, Bob Mrozek, and Cary Peterson.

Return to Sports Archives