Primary election has local and statewide races

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 9/1/98.

Voters will be heading to the polls on Tuesday, Sept. 15, to narrow down the field of candidates for the general election in November.

Locally, the Stearns County Commissioner race in District 5 has four candidates running. The top two vote getters in the primary will compete for the seat in November in the general election.

Incumbent Henry Dickhaus, Melrose, is being challenged by Johnnie Olson, Paynesville Township Supervisor; Donald Otte, Sauk Centre farmer; and Marlene Otte, Sauk Centre council member.

Dickhaus has held the seat for 20 years and is presently the county board chairperson.

The other primary race in Stearns County is for county auditor/ treasurer. Running for the seat of retiring auditor Hank Kohorst are: Scott Kelm, St. Joseph; Joseph Furman, Cold Spring, a retired St. Cloud State University professor and accountant; Randy Schreifels, Clearwater, a financial manager in the auditorís office; and Kevin Pullis, St. Cloud.

In Kandiyohi County, there are three men running for county sheriff. Incumbent Don Kujawa, Willmar, is seeking re-election. He is being challenged by Steve Marquardt and Mike Roe.

There is also a race in Meeker County, for the county sheriff position. Running are incumbent Mike Hirman, Litchfield; Mike Rogers, Litchfield and Mark Shoutz, Dassel.

Statewide, there is a primary to narrow the field for the seat held by Governor Arne Carlson.

DFL candidates filing for the governor and lieutenant governor positions are: Mike Freeman and Ruth Johnson, Ted Mondale and Deanna Wiener, Doug Johnson and Tom Foley, Mark Dayton and Julie Jansen, Ole Savior and Ron Moseng, Hubert Humphrey III and Roger Moe.

Republican candidates filing for the governor and lieutenant governor positions are: Norm Coleman and Gen Olson and Bill Dahn and James Kane, Mary Jevne and Howard Hanson.

Filing for attorney general are: DFL, Ember Reichgott Junge, Mike Hatch, and David Lillehaug; Republican, Sharon Anderson and Charlie Weaver.

Secretary of State: DFL, Edwina Garcia, Gregg Iverson, Dick Franson, Jen Mattson; Republican, Mary Kiffmeyer and Don Koenig

State auditor: Nancy Larson and Donald Moe, DFL.

State treasurer: DFL, Michael McGrath, John Franzen, Carol Johnson, Betsy OíBerry and Robert Johnson; Republicans, Kevin Knight, David Anderson, Jual Carlson and Joan Siers.

Supreme Court: Court six, Alan Page, Greg Wersal, and Roger Peterson.

Return to Archives