Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - December 15, 2004

Hospital board makes election results official

By Michael Jacobson

The Paynesville Area Hospital District Board of Directors took the following actions at their meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 7.

*The board certified the election results from hospital board races on Tuesday, Nov. 2: city of Eden Valley, Greg Ruhland, 23; city of Paynesville, Don Anderson, 1,120; city of Regal, Bob Brauchler, 24; city of St. Martin, Diane Rothstein, 146; Eden Lake Township, Ross Amundson, 443, and Joe Gruenes, 282; at-large representative, Carolyn Swyter, 2,983, and Doug Ruhland, 1,778.

The board recognized Gruenes (two years) and Ruhland (ten years) for their service to their constituents and to the hospital district.

*The board was informed by CFO Kirk Johnson that PAHCS is switching its Medicare billing at its clinics. With provider-based clinics, PAHCS can switch its Medicare billing, which will benefit PAHCS by getting a higher Medicare reimbursement and should benefit patients by sending a single bill. Previously, patients were billed separately for facility charges and professional fees. Under the new Medicare billing, they will receive a single bill.

*The board approved the following re-appointments to the medical staff: to active staff, Randy Nelson, D.O., and Randall Zimmerman, M.D.; to ancillary staff, Gene Beavers, P.A.; Kristine Cervin, Pharm.D.; Sheree Engen, CRNA; Gregory Friederichs, O.D.; Janet Jacobson, P.A.; Robert Sartoris, O.D.; and Wendy Worner, CRNA; and to the consulting staff, Bernard Erickson, M.D. (cardiology); Bonnie Fines, M.D. (radiology); Darren Glass, M.D. (general surgery); Hector Ho, M.D. (neurosurgery); Richard Jolkovsky, M.D. (cardiology); Jerome Keating, M.D. (urology); Danielle Leighton, M.D. (radiology); David Lindgren, M.D. (OB-GYN); John Matsura, M.D. (urology); James Mohs, M.D. (C-section privileges); Manuel Moran, M.D. (general surgery); Hoang Nguyen, M.D. (radiology); Larry Okerlund, M.D. (C-section privileges); Tereasa Simonson, M.D. (radiology); Kevin Smith, M.D. (radiology); and David Webster, M.D. (neurology).

*The board set a special meeting to review their annual audit for Monday, Jan. 10, at 8 p.m. Hospital board meetings are held in the Blakely Room at the Paynesville Area Hospital.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community