Fund formed for Carol Weaver estate donation

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 11/17/99.

The formation of a special trust fund was approved by the Paynesville Area School Board for a donation from the Carol Weaver Estate. A Paynesville native, Weaver died in California in 1995.

At the school board Tuesday night meeting, Superintendent Howard Caldwell, explained the donation had been put in the district's general fund when it was received in 1995. "I think it would be more realistic to provide a special fund for this money and the district bookkeeping coding process provides that opportunity," Caldwell told the board.

High school staff members have utilized only the interest from the donation for special projects and needs.

Caldwell added, "This new fund arrangement will be a more appropriate way in which to process the financial transactions from this donation."

The fund has more than $84,000 in a certificate of deposit at present. Among the purchases made with the interest include: a laminator, a weather station, a water pollution detection kit, and a Flex cam for the science department; a Panasonic camcorder for the communications department; two computers for the computer lab; a new sound system for the high school gym; and new books and benches for the high school library.

John Janotta, high school principal, explained that a board of staff members reviews the funding requests.

In other business. . .
•Following the Oct. 25 meeting, the administration met with Beth Realdsen to discuss health care at the various grade levels. It was decided to add two more hours of health care service. The board, realizing the need for more health care coverage, approved the recom-mendation at their Nov. 9 meeting.

•The board approved canvassing the school board election returns. The canvass showed: four-year terms, Getchen O'Fallon received 320 votes; Maurice Dosdall, 269; Patrick Flanders, 264; two-year terms: Dan Andersen, 271, and Bob See, 253.

•The board approved the following to serve as election judges for the Dec. 14 special election: Mike Braun, Aloys Hoppe, Jerome Olmscheid, Juanita Olson, Rick Thompson, John Atwood, Jane Frieler, Jan Kulzer, Carolyn Reeck, Harry Schuelke, Joachim Speldrich, Carolyn Swyter, and Janice Zumwalde. Alternate judges will be Lew Ahrens, Cindy Gerding, and Daniel Olson.

•The board set a special meeting for Tuesday, Dec. 14, at 9:30 p.m. in the elementary media center to canvas the special election results.

•The board approved adding the high school pops choir to the extracurricular schedule.

•The board approved the following extracurricular assignments: Mike Jacobson, assistant varsity boys' basketball coach; and Darin Carstens, eighth grade girls' basketball coach.

•The board approved a child care leave for Denise Landsteiner, second grade teacher, effective Jan. 24, 2000.

•Don and Irma Kelm, Paynesville, met with the board and requested drivers training be offered as part of the daily class schedule instead of after school through community education. The board said they would review the matter.

•Lowell Haagenson submitted his resignation from the board, effective immediately. With his resignation, Gretchen O'Fallon was able to start her new four-year term at this meeting.

Bob See and Dan Andersen will start their two-year terms on the school board at the next meeting.

Return to Archives