Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - November 10, 2004

Chamber accepting nominations for awards

By Michael Jacobson

The Paynesville Area Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for its annual awards.

Each year, since 1996, the Chamber has recognized a Boss of the Year, an Employee of the Year, a Farmer of the Year, an Outstanding Young Person, and recognized a volunteer with its Community Service Award. (The Farmer of the Year award has been expanded to include all businesses as the Business of the Year. Farm operations, as well as other businesses, are eligible in this category.)

Nomination forms are available at various local businesses, including the Paynesville Press. If no nominations are received for a particular category, that award will not be given.

While these awards are sponsored by the Paynesville Area Chamber of Commerce, nominations are open to the public, and Chamber membership is not required to win.

Nominations should include a brief description explaining why the nominator thinks the nominee is worthy of the particular award.

Nominations are due by Friday, Dec. 17. They can be mailed to the Chamber at: P.O. Box 4, Paynesville, MN 56362.

The awards will be announced on Tuesday, Jan. 11, at the Chamber's annual meeting and banquet.

Previous winners are listed below.

Boss of the Year
1996 Bob Jorgenson
1997 Willie LaCroix
1998 Wally Thyen
1999 Bert Stanley
2000 Joe Voss
2001 Butch Mueller
2002 Wayne Walther
2003 Bev Mueller
2004 Don Frank

Employee of the Year
1996 Audrey Olmscheid
1997 Donna Coulter
1998 Al Roemeling
1999 Ron Mergen
2000 Roger Heinen
2001 Linda Mayer
2002 Dave Spanier
2003 Tess Thielen
2004 Gayla Orbeck

Farmer of the Year
1996 Art Voss
1997 Roman and Keith Schaefer
1998 Bob and Roger Hemmesch
1999 Not Given
2000 Ralph, Ken, Julie, and Jason Schefers
2001 Clarence and Viola Bertram
2002 Duane and Irene Burg
2003 Ray and Rita Nietfeld Steve and Claudette Nietfeld
2004 Not Given

Community Service Award
1996 Paul Pratt
1997 Dean Hanson
1998 Tom Koshiol
1999 Otto Naujokas
2000 Rick Paul
2001 Brenda Stang
2002 Dwight Peteler
2003 Joyce Spaulding
2004 Mark Leverington

Outstanding Young Person
1996 Mike Jacobson
1997 Josh Mueller
1998 Erin Pelton
1999 James Gilk
2000 Ryan Lang
2001 Becca Gardner
2002 Melissa Bachman
2003 Morgan Martinson
2004 Not Given

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community