Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - September 20, 2006

Six former athletes to be inducted
into the Bulldog Hall of Fame

By Michael Jacobson

The Bulldog Hall of Fame will induct six new members on Saturday, Sept. 23. To be inducted this year are: Bud Olsen (Class of 1941); Joe Pung (Class of 1961); Paul Voss (Class of 1982); Greg Schwartz (Class of 1991); Brenda (Meyer) Corrow (Class of 1992); and Joel Fenske (Class of 1994).

The Bulldog Athletic Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Bulldog Booster Club, seeks to recognize former athletes, coaches, and athletic directors for their accomplishments and community members for their contributions to the athletic programs at PAHS.

Athletes are eligible for induction ten years after graduation, while coaches and athletic directors must be retired to be honored.

Olsen was the star center for the Bulldogs' district basketball championship teams in 1940 and 1941; Pung played football for the Gophers, including serving as captain; Voss set four school records and earned three state medals in track in high school before playing football and running track at the University of St. Thomas; Schwartz wrestled on three state championship teams and won an individual state title his senior year; Corrow centered the Bulldogs to the subsection final in 1992 in girls' basketball before starring for St. Cloud State University; and Fenske earned state medals in cross country and track in high school before leading the University of South Dakota to a Division II national championship in cross country.

The six inductees will be recognized at the PAHS varsity football game against ACGC on Friday, which starts at 7 p.m.

The induction ceremony will be held on Saturday, Sept. 23, at Queen Bee's Bar and Grill in downtown Paynesville. Saturday's banquet starts with a social hour at 5 p.m.; dinner at 6 p.m.; and induction ceremony at 7 p.m.

Banquet tickets are $10 in advance and $12 at the door. They are available from Bulldog Booster Club members and at the office of the Paynesville Press.

Inducted last year as the inaugural Bulldog Hall of Fame class were: Jack Hoppe (Class of 1954); Don Liestman (Class of 1958); Loren Wendroth (Class of 1979); Sara (Realdsen) Lein (Class of 1986); Brad Fenske (Class of 1992); Tina (Lang) Fenske (Class of 1994); Carol Smith (girls' coach) and Virg Vagle (football and wrestling coach).

(Editor's Note: Jacobson again was a member of the Bulldog Hall of Fame selection committee.)

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community