Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - September 20, 2006

City, hospital filings close

By Michael Jacobson

Filings for elected offices in area cities and in the Paynesville Area Hospital District closed last week. The filing period opened on Tuesday, Aug. 29, and closed on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Mostly incumbents refiled for election, with a few exceptions.

In the city of Paynesville, Mayor Jeff Thompson and councilor Jean Soine re-filed for election, but incumbent councilor Dennis Zimmerman did not. Instead, Gene Beavers, a physician's assistant at the Paynesville Area Health Care System, filed for a council spot.

Paynesville Township also should see a change in representation on the hospital board. Incumbent Kay Spooner did not file for re-election while Lois Johnson, a retired nurse practitioner, did file for election.

In other cities and townships in the Paynesville area, only incumbents refiled for election, with the exception of Roscoe, which had no filings again. This is just like 2004, where no one filed for election to city offices in Roscoe. In that year, Roscoe elected its officials in write-in campaigns.

Incumbents Don Heinen (mayor), Sylvestor Ludwig (councilor), and George Erlichman (councilor) did not re-file for election in Roscoe.

For area cities, a two-year term as mayor and two four-year terms on the city council will be up for election in November. For the hospital district, seven board positions are up for election this fall.

Candidates for office need to be an eligible voter in Minnesota, must be 21 years of age when assuming office, and need to be a resident of their respective district for 30 days prior to the general election. There was a $2 filing fee.

The general election will be held this fall on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

City Filings
A two-year term for mayor and two four-year council seats will be up for election this fall in area cities. Incumbents are noted by an asterisk (*).

City of Lake Henry
Mayor: Not Up for Election
City Council: *Dan Liebl and *Dennis Roos

City of Paynesville
Mayor: *Jeff Thompson
City Council: Gene Beavers and *Jean Soine

City of Regal
Mayor: *Jack Kotten
City Council: *Sue Brauchler and *Janet Fleck

City of Roscoe
Mayor: None
City Council: None

City of St. Martin
Mayor: *James Rothstein
City Council: *Robert Schmitz and *Carol Thelen.

Hospital Board Filings
Four-year terms to represent the following government entities on the Paynesville Area Hospital District Board of Directors will be up for election on Tuesday, Nov. 7. Incumbents are noted by an asterisk (*).

City of Lake Henry: *Sarah Olmscheid

City of Richmond: *Deb Vogt

City of Roscoe: *Rich Philabaum

Paynesville Township: Lois Johnson

Roseville Township: *Joe Musel

Union Grove Township: *Mike Hansen

Zion Township: *Don Thomes

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community