Filings close for area cities, hospital board

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 9/20/00.

Filings for city council seats closed in four area cities on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Rick Peterson was the only person to file for an office in Lake Henry. He filed for the mayor's position, a two-year term.

Not filing for office were incumbent Mayor Dan Liebl and incumbent council members JoAnn Weidner and John Horn.

In Paynesville, filing were incumbents Mayor Jeff Thompson and incumbent council members Harlan Beek and Dave Peschong.

In Roscoe, incumbent Mayor Don Heinen and incumbent council member Mike Christian filed for office. Louise Mohs did not file for another term, leaving her spot open on the ballot.

In Regal, incumbents filing were Mayor Mike Braun and council members Pat Pauly and Jim Halverson.

The mayor's position in all these cities is for two years while council seats are for four years.

In Regal, another two-year council seat is open to fill the unexpired term of Ed Keller. Sue Brauchler, who was appointed to the seat this year, filed for this position.

Hospital district
Incumbents were the only ones to file for positions on the Paynesville Area Hospital District.

Filing in the following cities were: Eden Valley, Doug Ruhland; Paynesville, Don Anderson; Regal, Bob Brauchler; Richmond, Vicki Ruegemer; Roscoe, Rich Philabaum; St. Martin, Diane Rothstein; and member at large, Carolyn Swyter.

All these seats are for four years except the representative from Richmond which is a two-year term. Richmond will elect a representative for four years in 2002.

Filings open in city of St. Martin
Filings opened Tuesday, Sept. 12, for the St. Martin City Council.

Anyone interested in filing for office have until Wednesday, Sept. 27, to file with Dave Heinen, clerk.

Terms up for re-election are Mayor Joe Kalthoff and councilmen Steve Revermann and Otto Kaschmitter.

Return to Archives