Two will race for Paynesville mayor's seat

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 9/17/96.

Filings closed on Tuesday, Sept. 10, for positions on the Paynesville City Council and Paynesville Area Hospital District Board.Two people filed for the two-year term of mayor, Jeff Thompson and Tom Hayenga.

Filing for the three city council seats were Dennis Zimmerman, two-year term; Harlan Beek and Dave Peschong, four-year terms. Councilman Bert Stanley did not file for re-election.

Hospital District
Only the incumbents filed for re-election on the Paynesville Hospital District Board. They were: Don Anderson, city of Paynesville and Carolyn Swyter, member at-large; Bob Brauchler, city of Regal; Diane Rothstein, city of St. Martin, and Doug Ruhland, city of Eden Valley.

City of RegalFilings haven't closed for the city of Regal. Terms up for re-election are those of Mike Braun, mayor; Jack Kotten and Pat Pauly, councilmen. Filings will close on Sept. 27. Anyone interested in running for office should contact Gerald Braun, clerk, 320-243-4812.

City of Roscoe
Three positions are up for election in November. They are Marie Mehr, mayor and two council seats, Brad McCool and Louise Mohs. Anyone interested in filing has until Friday, Sept. 27, to file with the clerk, Gail Lang, Roscoe.

Meeker County Commissioner,
4th District

Filing for the position are incumbent George Rice, Watkins and Tom Burr, Paynesville.

[ Return to Previous Menu | Archived Press Stories Menu | Return to the News Page ]