Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - September 18, 2002

Filings close for city, hospital district

By Michael Jacobson

While candidates are needed for a number of elected offices, at least two local races will be contested in the general election in November. Three candidates filed for both the Paynesville City Council (where two will be elected to four-year terms) and to represent Paynesville Township on the hospital board (where only the top vote-getter will serve a four-year term).

Filings for elected offices in area cities and in the Paynesville Area Hospital District opened on Tuesday, Aug. 27, and closed on Tuesday, Sept. 10. A two-year term for mayor and two four-year council seats will be up for election in most cities this fall, as are representatives for the hospital board in six entities.

For the city of Paynesville, Jackie Braun joined incumbent council members Jean Soine and Dennis Zimmerman in seeking a council seat. The top two vote-getters in November will serve on the council for four years.

City Fillings
A two-year term for mayor, and two four-year council seats will be up for election this fall in most area cities. Incumbents are noted by an asterisk (*).

City of Lake Henry
Mayor: Not up for election
City Council: None

City of Paynesville
Mayor: Jeff Thompson*
City Council: Jackie Braun, Jean Soine*, and Dennis Zimmerman*

City of Regal
Mayor: Mike Braun*
City Council: Sue Brauchler*

City of Roscoe
Mayor: None
City Council: George Erlichman

City of St. Martin
Mayor: James Rothstein
City Council: Charles Reed and Robert Schmitz*

Meanwhile, incumbent Jeff Thompson was the only person to file for mayor, a two-year term.

For the hospital board in Paynesville Township, incumbent Grace Peteler did not file for re-election, and her open seat will be the subject of a three-way race between Denise Hansen, Brad Johnson, and Kay Spooner. The winner will represent the township on the hospital board, which owns and operates the Paynesville Area Health Care System, for the next four years. With the filings closed, no other races are contested. Most cities have a two-year term for mayor up for election and two four-year terms on the city council. Six entities in the hospital district - the city of Lake Henry, the city of Richmond, Paynesville Township, Roseville Township, Union Grove Township, and Zion Township - have representatives up for re-election this fall. Excepting Paynesville and Roseville townships, the incumbent was the sole filer in the other four entities.

In Roseville Township, incumbent Mel Jones did not file for re-election. Candidates for office need to be an eligible voter in Minnesota, must be 21 years of age when assuming office, and need to be a resident of their respective district for 30 days prior to the general election. There was a $2 filing fee.

Hospital Board Fillings
Incumbents noted with an asterisk (*)

City of Lake Henry
Sarah Olmscheid*

City of Richmond
Vicki Ruegemer*

Paynesville Township
Denise Hansen, Brad Johnson, and Kay Spooner

Roseville Township

Union Grove Township
Mike Hansen*

Zion Township
Don Thomes*

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community