Primary candidates

This article submitted on 9/06/00.

Candidates in contested primary races are indicated with an asterisk (*).

U.S. Senate
*Derek Schramm, Constitution, St. Paul;
*David Swan, Constitution, Brooklyn Park;

*Hal Dorland, DFL, West St. Paul;
*Ole Savior, DFL, Minneapolis;
*Jerry Janezich, DFL, St. Paul;
*Gregg Iverson, DFL, St. Paul;
*Dick Franson, DFL, Minnesota;
*Mike Ciresi, DFL, St. Paul;
*Mark Dayton, DFL, Minneapolis;
*Rebecca Yanisch, DFL, Minneapolis;

*Ruford Johnson, Independence, Brainerd;
*Fred Askew, Independence;
*Jim Gibson, Independence, Minneapolis;
*Leslie Davis, Independence, Minneapolis;

*Bill Dahn, Republican, St. Paul;
*Rod Grams, Republican, Anoka (incumbent);

David Daniels, Grassroot, Minneapolis;

Rebecca Ellis, Socialist, St. Paul;

Erick Pakieser, Libertarian, Minneapolis.

U.S. House
Second District

David Minge, DFL, Montevideo, (incumbent);

*Mark Kennedy, Republican, Watertown;
*Joe Wagner, Republican, Jordan;

*Stan Bentz, Independence, Waconia;
*Gerald Brekke, Independence, St. Peter;

Dennis Burda, Constitution, Buffalo;

Ron Helwig, Libertarian, Shakopee.

Seventh District
Colin Peterson, DFL, Warroad (incumbent);

*Glen Menze, Republican, Starbuck;
*Aleta Edin, Republican, Upsala;

Owen Sivertson, Constitution.

State Legislature
Senate District 14

Michelle Fischbach, Republican, Paynesville (incumbent);
Mike Sharp, DFL, Clearwater;

Senate District 15
Diane Vlach, Republican, Willmar;
Dean Johnson, DFL, Willmar (incumbent).

Senate District 20
Steve Dille, Republican, Dassel (incumbent);
Jeff Krueger, DFL, Silver Lake.

House District 14B
Doug Stang, Republican, Cold Spring (incumbent);
Steve McCorquodale, DFL, Paynesville.

House District 15A
Al Juhnke, DFL, Willmar (incumbent);
Kevin Dittbrenner, Republican, New London;

House District 20A
Bob Ness, Republican, Dassel (incumbent);
Phillip Jarman, DFL, Cokato.

County Commissioners
Stearns District 3

Rose Arnold, Avon (incumbent);
Fred Holthaus, Farming.

Meeker District 4
*Hugh C. Wagner, Watkins;
*Frank Marshall, Grove City;
*Tom Burr, Paynesville.

Kandiyohi District 4
Dennis Peterson, Spicer (incumbent).

Return to Archives