Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - August 23, 2006

City, hospital filings to open
for the November elections

Filings for elected offices in area cities and in the Paynesville Area Hospital District will open on Tuesday, Aug. 29, and will close on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

For area cities, a two-year term as mayor and two four-year terms on the city council will be up for election in November.

For the hospital district, seven board positions are up for election this fall.

Candidates for office need to be an eligible voter in Minnesota, must be 21 years of age when assuming office, and need to be a resident of their respective district for 30 days prior to the general election. There is a $2 filing fee.

Interested candidates should contact their respective city or township clerk to file for office.

For the city of Paynesville, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Jeff Thompson and city council members Jean Soine and Dennis Zimmerman.

Filings, in the city of Paynesville, can be done at city hall (on the corner of Highway 23 and Washburne Avenue) from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays.

For the city of Lake Henry, incumbents whose terms expire this year are city council members Dennis Roos and Dale Wessel.

For the city of Regal, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Jack Kotten and city council members Sue Brauchler and Janet Fleck.

For the city of Roscoe, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Don Heinen and city council members Sylvestor Ludwig and George Erlichman.

And for the city of St. Martin, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor James Rothstein and city council members Robert Schmitz and Carol Thelen.

The Paynesville Area Hospital District - comprised of seven cities and five townships - operates an acute-care hospital, nursing home, congregate housing units, and a clinic at its main campus in Paynesville. It also operates six satellite clinics, another nursing home in Watkins, and an assisted living facility in Paynesville (Washburne Court).

Representatives (for four-year terms) will be up for election in seven of the member entities to the hospital district this fall: the cities of Lake Henry, Richmond, and Roscoe and the townships of Paynesville, Roseville, Union Grove, and Zion.

Incumbents on the hospital board whose current terms expire are: Deb Vogt (city of Richmond), Sarah Olmscheid (city of Lake Henry), Rich Philabaum (city of Roscoe), Kay Spooner (Paynesville Township), Joe Musel (Roseville Township), Dr. Mike Hansen (Union Grove Township), and Don Thomes (Zion Township).

Filings for hospital board candidates should be made with the respective city or township clerk by 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

The general election will be held this fall on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community