Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - August 21, 2002

City, hospital filings to open next Tuesday

Filings for elected offices in area cities and in the Paynesville Area Hospital District will open on Tuesday, Aug. 27.

For the cities, a two-year term as mayor and two four-year terms on the respective city council will be up for election. For the hospital district, six board positions are up for election.

Candidates for office need to be an eligible voter in Minnesota, must be 21 years of age when assuming office, and need to be a resident of their respective district for 30 days prior to the general election.

There is a $2 filing fee. Interested candidates should contact their respective city or township clerk to file for office.

Filings will close on Tuesday, Sept. 10.

For the city of Paynesville, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Jeff Thompson and city council members Jean Soine and Dennis Zimmerman.

Filings, in the city of Paynesville, can be done at city hall (on the corner of Highway 23 and Washburne Avenue) from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays.

For the city of Lake Henry, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Eric Pederson and city council members Dennis Roos and Dale Wessel.

For the city of Regal, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Mike Braun and city council members Sue Brauchler and Janet Fleck.

For the city of Roscoe, incumbents whose terms expire this year are Mayor Don Heinen and city council members Sylvestor Ludwig and Robert Utsch.

The Paynesville Area Hospital District - comprised of seven cities and four townships - operates an acute-care hospital, nursing home, congregate housing units, and a clinic at its main campus in Paynesville. It also has six satellite clinics and recently purchased two additional nursing homes - one in Paynesville and another in Watkins - from the Good Samaritan Society.

Board representatives will be up for election in six of the member entities to the hospital district this fall: the cities of Richmond and Lake Henry and the townships of Paynesville, Roseville, Union Grove, and Zion.

Incumbents on the hospital board are: Vickie Ruegemer (city of Richmond), Sarah Olmscheid (city of Lake Henry), Grace Peteler (Paynesville Township), Mel Jones (Roseville Township), Dr. Mike Hansen (Union Grove Township), and Don Thomes (Zion Township).

Filings for hospital board candidates should be made with the respective city or township clerk by 4 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 10.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community