Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - July 10, 2002

Urdahl endorsed by Republicans in District 18B

Dean Urdahl of Grove City won the Republican Endorsement for the House District 18B seat on the first ballot at the Republican endorsing convention on Tuesday, June 25, at the Washington Auditorium in Litchfield.

In a three-way contest, Urdahl defeated Dr. David Detert and Greg Gilbertson. Urdahl received 74 percent of the votes on the first ballot. A candidate needs to receive 60 percent of the votes cast in order to receive the Republican Party endorsement.

State Senator Steve Dille was unanimously endorsed as the Republican Candidate for the Senate District 18 Seat. Representative Tony Kielkucki was unanimously endorsed as the Republican candidate for the House District 18A Seat.

Bob Ness (R-Dassel) could have run for re-election to the Minnesota House in District 18B but he opted to retire after ten years in the Minnesota House.

Senate District 18 includes all of Meeker County, all of McLeod County, and the following precincts in Wright County: Annandale, Cokato, Cokato Township, Corinna Township, French Lake Township, Howard Lake, Southside Township, and Stockholm Township.

Meeker County is in Senate District 18B, which includes Manannah Township and Union Grove Township.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community