Miss Paynesville pageant recognized former queens

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 6/23/99.

Miss Paynesville Allison Thompson, 17, was crowned Miss Paynesville at the queen pageant Monday evening.

Crowned first and second princess respectively were Amanda Granzow and Melissa Reiter.

Miss Congeniality, voted upon by the girls, went to Heather Fenske. The poise award was presented to Trishia Miller and the appearance award went to Amanda McCool.

Emcees for the evening were Wally and Darlene Thyen. Escorts for the queen candidates were Andrew Meagher and Zac Spates.

Making the Aquatennial presentation were Caroline Cleveland, Aquatennial Captain, Jennifer Sedey, Aquatennial Queen, and Kelly Gahlon, Queen of the Lakes.

1949 and 1998 queens Receiving the Commodores Award were Deb Heitke, Amy Miller, Janet Flanders, and Rick Paul.

At the Sunday night gathering, the first Miss Paynesville 1949 (Ice Cream Days Queen) Evelyn Wahl Carlson attended with her cardboard crown of ice cream cones. She is pictured at left with the reigning Miss Paynesville, Mackenzie Merrill.

Prior to the pageant, former Miss Paynesville's gathered for a luncheon and were recognized. During the pageant, those present were asked to appear on stage and be honored.

Former Miss Paynesvilles honored Sunday night were: (front, L to R) Karen Nelson Brock, '65; Mary Quarfot Cushman, '61; Lynne LeMasurier Jacobson, '62; Diane Flanders Braegelman, '63; Lovey Hoppe Theis, '55; Evelyn Wahl Carlson, '49; Lenore Sandberg Miller, '66; Former Miss Paynesvilles(back) Mackenzie Merrill, '98; Krista Hansen, '91; Kim Deadrick Farley, '85; Joan Haines Edstrom, '81; Theresa Voss,'80; Kelly Beliveau Welle, '83; Evey Arnold Larson, '69; Holli Whitcomb Rudningen, '95; and Tami Reutzel Stanger, '87.

Return to Archives