Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - June 21, 2006

School board approves wellness policy

The Paynesville Area School Board took the following actions at their meeting on Tuesday, June 13.

•The board approved a new wellness policy, a mandated policy that the district needed to have in place by July 1, 2006. (See story on page 1.) •The board approved a retirement request from first grade teacher Joyce Anderson, effective Nov. 17, 2006, following fall conferences.

•The board approved a retirement request from district secretary Donna Ahrens, effective Dec. 31, 2006, with her last day being Friday, Oct. 27.

•The board approved an employee assignment for elementary secretary Linda Mayer to replace Ahrens as district secretary. Her official start date will be Monday, Oct. 16.

•The board approved hiring Megan Larson as a kindergarten teacher for the 2006-07 school year. She will replace Lou Louis, who has taken a leave of absence.

•The board approved a $53,925 bid from Tech Check for a three-year lease as the computer server.

•The board approved the lowest bid of $7,370 from Gabrielson Excavating for the installation of a stormsewer in the elementary playground area. The other bids were $9,191 and $10,250.

•The board approved an agreement with Ridgewater College to continue its post-secondary option contract with a rate increase from $166.57 per credit to $173.85 for 2006-07.

•The board approved a staff development grant for the middle school and high school in the amount of $4,405, which will contribute to workshops and staff training for new Excel computer programs in collaboration with the online curriculum mapper.

•The board heard a legislative update from Rep. Larry Hosch (DFL-St. Joseph) and Sen. Michelle Fischbach (R-Paynesville). Key issues this session were the bonding bill, as well as budgeting and comprehensive restructuring of education, they told the board.

•The board acknowledged negotiating requests from its adminstrator's union (principals Lorie Floura and Deb Gillman) and from Community Education director Matt Dickhausen. All are seeking new contracts for the 2006-07 and 2007-08 school years.

•The board tabled an oral summary of superintendent Todd Burlingame's yearly evaluation.

•The board approved a resignation request from food service worker Katie Mueller, effective June 1.

•The board approved an employee assignment for Diane Gilk and Joan Blonigen as ECSE van drivers in August.

•The board approved rejoining the Central Minnesota Adult Basic Education Consortium for the 2006-07 school year.

•The board approved the creation of a tax-free JOBZ zone, to include three parcels in the city.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community