Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - May 31, 2006

FFA Chapter caps school year with banquet

The FFA Chapter at Paynesville Area High School held their spring recognition banquet on Sunday, May 21, in the high school cafeteria with awards following in the auditorium.

Guest speakers were former state secretary Jackie Koch and Paynesville Area FFA Alumni president Dale Lenzmeier.

The PAHS FFA Chapter is advised by ag teacher Natalie Todnem. Students from Rocori High School take ag classes at PAHS and participate in FFA with Paynesville.

Awards given were...
Chevy Ticket Winners: (1) junior Ellie Opitz (of Rocori); (2) junior Brittney Spanier; (3) ninth grader Mary Herding.

Fruit and Beef Stick Sale Winners: (1) senior Stephen Lenzmeier; (2) senior Niki Meier (of Rocori); (3) senior Mel Mages.

Greenhand Degrees: sophomore Tony Guenther, Herding, ninth grader Joey Higgins, senior Brad Kuhl, ninth grader Darren Mackedanz, ninth grader Josh Mergen, junior Kim Person, Spanier, and ninth grader Dan Zenner.

Star Greenhand: Herding.

Chapter Degrees: senior Jess Engler, senior Caitlin Lien, and senior Megan Reeck.

Star Chapter Farmer: Lenzmeier.

Academic Achievement: Reeck.

Scholarship Winners: ($200) Engler, Lenzmeier, Meier, and Reeck.

Dairy Production Placement Proficiency Award: Meier.

Dairy Production Entrepreneurship Proficiency Award: junior Leah Molitor (of Rocori).

Outstanding Freshman: Zenner.

Outstanding Sophomore: Kaitlyn Frenchick.

Outstanding Juniors: Opitz and Spanier.

Outstanding Senior: Adam Flanders.

DeKalb Achievement Award: Lenzmeier.

Blue and Gold/Dedicated and Devoted Award: Engler.

Letterwinners: sophomore Chris Block, Engler, Flanders, Frenchick, Herding, ninth grader Dillon Herem, Higgins, Lenzmeier, Lien, Meier, Mergen, Molitor, Opitz, Reeck, Spanier, and Zenner.

Honorary Chapter Members: Joe Flanders, Feed Co., and Paynesville Equipment.

2005-06 Retiring Officers: Lien, president; Reeck, vice president; Engler, secretary; Frenchick, treasurer; Opitz, reporter; Molitor, sentinel; and Meier, historian.

2006-2007 Officers: Molitor, president; Frenchick, vice president; Spanier, treasurer; Opitz, secretary/ reporter; Person, sentinel/historian.

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community