Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - March 20, 2002

Elections held in area townships

By Michael Jacobson

Voters in area townships went to the polls on Tuesday, March 12, to elect a supervisor for three years and a clerk for two. (Voters in Zion Township also elected a supervisor for a two-year term.)

In the local area, seven township seats were contested.

The closest vote was in Lake Henry Township, where incumbent Ralph Klassen defeated challenger Jacqueline Dahl by one vote in the clerk race. Klassen won 44-43.

In the supervisor race in Lake Henry Township, incumbent Celestine Fischbach defeated write-in candidate Gary Olmscheid 51-33.

Another close race occurred in Manannah Township, where incumbent supervisor Harold Kelm defeated challenger George Friederichs by four votes, 38-34.

The largest voter turnouts were in Paynesville and Munson townships.

In Paynesville Township, Pat Meagher defeated incumbent Warren Nehring 241-195 in a three-way race. Ed McIntee got 45 votes.

Also, in Paynesville Township, clerk Don Wiese won another two-year term, defeating write-in candidate Ray Lien 384-60.

In Munson Township, incumbent supervisor Tom Gertken won another term by defeating challenger Mary Wiese 203-65.

Finally, in Eden Lake Township, Gerri Kadlec defeated Barb Bischof to become the new clerk, 98-17.

Three area townships will have new clerks after the election. Incumbent clerks did not run for re-election in Eden Lake, Irving, and Munson townships.

Township levies

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community