Townships hold elections; one incumbent defeated

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 3/17/98.

Two new township supervisors were elected to area boards last week during the annual township elections. Residents in area townships elected clerks for a two-year term and a supervisors for three years.

The newly elected officers will assume their duties at the next regular township meeting.

In Lake Henry Township, Joe Roelike won the seat left vacant by Ron Lieser who did not file for another term. Roelike received 36 write-in votes compared to 14 for Dale Schlangen. Clerk Ralph Klassen was re-elected with 49 votes. A total of 56 voters cast ballots.

In Paynesville Township, challenger Don Pietsch won the election over incumbent supervisor John Atwood. Pietsch received 148 votes to Atwoodís 101. A total of 249 ballots were cast. Clerk Don Wiese won re-election with 232 votes.

Among the items discussed at the meeting were cost of fire protection. At present the fire department charges $300 to the property owner for fires. Insurance companies will pay up to $500. Many felt that by increasing the fee, it might help prevent fires, and people will be more careful before lighting fires. Last year the fire/rescue squad responded to three vehicle fires, nine fire calls, 13 rescues and four false alarms.

Warren Nehring discussed the possibility of land acquisition. The township has the opportunity to purchase 5.9 acres from Evon Christensen which abuts the ice arena. Many at the meeting told the board to pursue the option to purchase the land.

In Eden Lake Township, Walter Henning had an unsuccessful write-in campaign against incumbent LeRoy Mackedanz. Mackedanz won re-election with 155 votes compared to 89 for Henning. A total of 228 votes were cast. Anne Meyer won election with 228 votes as the new clerk for Eden Lake Township. She was appointed in January to fill out the term of the late Norvald Sogge.

The main topics of discussion at the annual meeting included the need to limit the number and size of large hog barns in the township. A lot of discussion was held on the topic but no decisions were made.

In Munson Township, Joe Willenbring won the supervisor seat left open by the retirement of incumbent Clem Kalthoff. Willenbring received 46 votes. A total of 46 votes were cast. Incumbent clerk Kathleen Hemmesch won re-election with 44 votes.

In St. Martin Township, a total of 25 votes were cast. Both incumbents won re-election. Don Rausch, clerk, 25 votes; and Ken Utsch, supervisor, 25 votes.

In Manannah Township incumbents won re-election. Clerk Jan Rossmeisl and Steve Kraushaar, supervisor, both received 12 votes each.

In Roseville Township, incumbents won re-election. Clerk Patricia Fenske received 21 votes and Jim Schultz, supervisor also received 21 votes. A total of 22 votes were cast.

In Irving Township, 23 votes were cast which was a little more than average, according to Township Clerk Joyce Strootman. Incumbents won re-election: Clerk Joyce Strootman, and Russell Schmidt, supervisor, both received 23 votes each.

Topics of discussion included a fund request from the New London-Spicer School District. The school district was asking for $21 per child living in the district to help cover the costs of summer recreation. The request was voted down. However, a request from the Willmar Historical Society to help repair the roof was approved.

In Zion Township, 35 votes were cast. Incumbent Carolyn Reeck, clerk, received 32 votes, and Larry Miller, supervisor, 34 votes.

In Union Grove Township incumbents Loren Pearson, clerk, and Dan Schultz and Verrol Smith, supervisors, were re-elected to another term. They all received 15 votes each.

Return to Archives