Area News | Home | Marketplace | Community

Return to Archived Stories

Paynesville Press - Jan. 22, 2003

Candidates file for seats on township boards

By Bonnie Jo Hanson

Paynesville Township will have the only contested race in the upcoming township elections for supervisors and treasurers. Incumbent supervisor John Atwood will be challenged by H. Harry Thielen in the Paynesville Township election in March.

Township filings closed on Tuesday, Jan. 14.

Atwood has been a township resident for the past 45 years. He is a retired field manager for Minnesota Valley Breeders Association and Select Sires and has served as a township supervisor for nine years.

Thielen is a Paynesville native who has owned a seasonal home on Lake Koronis for many years and has retired in Paynesville Township.

Only incumbents filed in most other townships. One exception is Union Grove Township, where Jeff Johnson has filed to run for the office of treasurer, a position that has been vacant since LeRoy Thomsen moved out of the township.

Elections will be held in conjunction with each township's annual meeting on Tuesday, March 11.

Filing for township offices were:

Eden Lake Township

*Ralph Hennen, supervisor
*Don Schlangen, treasurer

Irving Township

*Russell Schmidt, supervisor
*Howard Powers, treasurer

Lake Henry Township

*Matt Hemmesch, supervisor
*Ray Loxtercamp, treasurer

Manannah Township

*LuVerne Becker, supervisor
*Janine Shepersky, treasurer

Munsen Township

*Daniel Holthaus, supervisor
*Dick Behnen, treasurer

Paynesville Township

*John Atwood, supervisor
 H. Harry Thielen, supervisor
*Sharon Wendroth, treasurer

Roseville Township

*Foster Hudson, supervisor
*Terry Schaefer, treasurer

St. Martin Township

*Clarence Olmscheid, supervisor
*Leroy Garding, treasurer

Union Grove Township

*Verrol Smith, supervisor
 Jeff Johnson, treasurer

Zion Township

*Duane Berg, supervisor,
*Carole Wegner, treasurer

*Denotes incumbent

Contact the author at   •   Return to News Menu

Home | Marketplace | Community