Filings are open for township positions

This article submitted by Linda Stelling on 1/19/00.

For anyone wishing to serve as a township officer, filings opened yesterday.

Any individual who desires to run for an office can file with their township clerk. To be eligible, a person must be 21 years of age or older upon assuming office; a resident of the township for at least 30 days by election day; and a qualified voter. Candidates may not seek any other office. Filings for office opened on Jan. 18 and will close on Tuesday, Feb. 1.

Positions up this year are one supervisor in each township for a three-year term, and all the township clerks (two-year terms). Township elections and township annual meetings will be held on Tuesday, March 14.

Positions up for election this year are:
Paynesville Township: Don Wiese, clerk; and Johnnie Olson, supervisor.

Eden Lake Township: Anne Meyer, clerk; and Loren Eull, supervisor.

Union Grove Township: Loren Pearson, clerk; and Verrol Smith, supervisor.

Zion Township: Carolyn Reeck, clerk; and Duane Burg, supervisor.

Irving Township: Joyce Strootman, clerk; and Harlow Olson, supervisor.

Roseville Township: Pat Fenske, clerk; and Foster Hudson, supervisor.

St. Martin Township: Don Rausch, clerk; and Clarence Olmscheid, supervisor.

Munson Township: Kathleen Hemmesch, clerk; and Daniel Holthaus, supervisor.

Lake Henry Township: Ralph Klassen clerk; and Gary Olmscheid, supervisor.

Manannah Township: Jan Rossmeisl, clerk; and LuVerne Becker, supervisor.

Return to Archives